How a Children’s Film Can Have a Lasting Impact

 

Princess Mononoke Still

This. This awesome blog post about the film My Neighbor Totoro

Surely most of you (all 5 people who read my blog) must know how much I love Miyazaki films. Particularly My Neighbor Totoro and Princess Mononoke. What’s that? Oh…you don’t know? Let me just say this- I’m getting imagery from both tattooed on my feet next week =P

These films were very important to me as a child and I recall watching them over and over. I was watching My Neighbor Totoro when I was as young as 6 years old!! And I’ve seen it about 50 times since….okay, well I haven’t counted. But the point is that this film, despite being “just a kids’ movie” has been tremendously influential in my life. It is because of the great forest spirits of the Studio Ghibli films that I work so hard to protect nature. Today, I consider myself an environmentalist- and these two films very well be solely responsible!

Isaac’s post is a wonderfully written, brilliant review of how a “children’s film” can have such a tremendous impact on people as they become adults- and how they can change global perspectives for the better. I wont say more- you have to read the post to get all the great details!

One thought on “How a Children’s Film Can Have a Lasting Impact

  1. Thanks very much for the reblog and your kind post. Miyazaki movies have a soft spot in my heart as well. I’ll be analyzing a few more of them in the future.

Leave a Reply

